Army installs new commander

THE Army’s 3rd Infantry (Spearhead) Division welcomed its new commander on February 26, at Camp General Macario Peralta in Jamindan, Capiz.
Brigadier General Marion Sison replaced Lieutenant General Benedict Arevalo in a change-of-command ceremony presided by Army Commanding General Lt. Gen. Romeo Brawner Jr.
In his speech, Sison said he would continue to lead the Spearhead Troopers and promised to give his best effort to ensure the morale and welfare of 3ID personnel.
“Let us be united in achieving our missions, but let us not forget to take good care of ourselves to befit and healthy.
When we are at our best, we can surely deliver and continue to respect and support each other as members of the Spearhead Troopers in its broadest sense,” Sison said.
For his part, Arevalo expressed his gratitude to Spearhead Troopers for their courage and skills that led to the tactical victories of the Army in Western and Central Visayas against the CPP-NPA Terrorist during his stint resulting in the neutralization and surrender of members of the communist terrorist group. He also thanked the stakeholders for their unwavering support to 3ID.

Brawner, who served as the guest of honor and speaker, congratulated Arevalo and Sison.
He likewise acknowledged the efforts and contributions of Spearhead Troopers on numerous combat
accomplishments of the Division.
“Our path as protector of peace and freedom is fought with a barrel, and one of our feet is already at death’s door. Butthis is an oath and promise that we need to uphold at all cost,” Brawner said.
Before his designation as 3ID Commander, Sison assumed and served as 3ID’s Assistant Division Commander last January 27.
He succeeded BGen Noel Baluyan, who bowed out from military service last December 2022.
Sison also held key positions, including commander of the 301st Infantry Brigade,
where he is also the longestserving commander for three years and three months.
The newly installed Commander of the 3ID is a proud member of the Philippine Military Academy “Sambisig” Class of 1991.*