CSC honors 13 gov’t workers, organizations in W. Visayas

The Civil Service Commission (CSC) has honored 13 individuals and government organizations from Western Visayas for being able to rise beyond the challenge of the health pandemic and become servant heroes.

CSC Director IV Nelson Sarmiento, in his message during the virtual “Pasidungog” on Wednesday, said this year’s celebration honors civil servants in Western Visayas for their tireless efforts and notable accomplishments.

“The Covid-19 pandemic has caused changes in practically every part of our lives. It continues to weigh heavily on our lives. But let us not forget our modern-day heroes who bravely leave their homes in order to work,” he said.

Dr. Josette Biyo, an awardee of the CSC HAP Presidential Lingkod Bayan in 2007 and current director of the Science Education Institute of the Department of Science and Technology (SEI-DOST) in her message to the awardees, said their recognition “brings a ray of hope and joy in these tumultuous times”.

“To be recognized by the Civil Service Commission for your service and integrity is such as tremendous honor. To all our regional winners, congratulations. You would not have gone this far if you have not performed exceptionally well in your professions,” she said.

The regional winners, which received a plaque of recognition as Presidential Lingkod Bayan awardees included Iloilo City Mayor Jerry P. Treñas, Commission on Audit Team No. 9 in Capiz Province composed of Diorelyn P. Meñez and Geraldine F. Hibaler, and Wellet A. del Castillo from Sara National High School in Sara, Iloilo.

The Pagasa Award was conferred to Emilyn A. Depon of the provincial government of Capiz, Jaypee Kein G. Entredicho of the provincial government of Guimaras, Ana Rubie S. Espiritu and Bryan D. Donasco both from the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology Western Visayas (BJMP 6), Rodney L. Nabalona of the Silay City Water District and the BJMP 6 Therapeutic Community Modality Program and Specialized Psychological and Emotional Component Sessions for People with Stimulant Use Disorders (TCMP-SPECS) with members Maricon Tulayan, Ramil Dilag, Pearl Joy Lasangue, Jovelyn Valencia and Myrna Zosette G. Mesias.

The winners of the Dangal ng Bayan Award were Analyn Perez of the Dina-ut Elementary School in Aklan, John L. Alcazarin from the local government unit of Numancia in Aklan, Jonathan G. de Gracia of the Sibalom Water District and Anthony Ian G. Andaleza of the Department of the Interior and Local Government Western Visayas (DILG 6).

The Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award is conferred to individuals or groups of five for their extraordinary contribution with a nationwide impact while the Pagasa Award is for those whose initiative has benefitted more than one department of the government.

The Dangal ng Bayan Award is for those who demonstrated exemplary behavior as provided for under Republic Act 6713 or the Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees.

This year’s Pasidungog is the highlight of the Philippine Civil Service Anniversary celebration in Western Visayas. (PNA)